IM SO TORN THIS WEEKEND… KINDA…

  1. THE CIRCLE

I didn’t know much about this movie coming in but damn if it doesn’t look captivating.  Tom Hanks plays like… evil Mark Zuckerburg (maybe).  Emma Watson is way in over her head as the little guy at the big scary company that needs to uncover something.  John Boyega is the guy that knows too much.  WHAAA?! The cast is great… and the trailer… it turns from fun and upbeat to creepy sort of gradually and effortlessly.   And given the whole “we can see you from every camera” world we live in, it seems eerily timely.

2. SLEIGHT

So… this is being hyped up as CHRONICLE MEETS IRON MAN!  Add that to all of the Sundance raving and this feels like another must see this weekend!

3. HOW TO BE A LATIN LOVER

Okay… so I was down for this movie from the first scene in the trailer.  A little boy who’s life aspiration is to be a gold digger.  He gets everything he ever wants and starts teaching his nephew to be shiftless.  HILARIOUS!

MY VOTE: SLEIGHT

Okay… I think How To Be A Latin Lover will be funny, but I don’t NEED to see it the way I NEED to see The Circle and Sleight.  And while I may believe The Circle may be a more intense movie, Sleight was my must see pick for the month of April in my yearly run down.  Blum House did great with Split earlier this year and Jordan Peele showed us smaller movies like “Get Out” can be phenomenal!  All that in mind… Sleight gets:

Sleight-Movie-Poster copy.jpg
5/5 Marshawns – You Know Why Im Here!
