Last week, Hidden Figures proved us right by taking #1 at the Box Office… this week, we have a beefed up battle for the buck$!

#1 – PATRIOTS DAY

I’m an asshole.. I make fun of everything.  That said, I’m not touching this.  Marky Mark adds J.K. Simmons and John Goodman to his Funky Bunch to recount the unfortunate events of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing.  Feels a bit early for a movie adaptation for me.  It took at least 5 years for Hollywood to pump out United 93 and World Trade Center after the 9/11 attacks.  Not calling this movie tacky for capitalizing on American strife… but it just feels a little soon.

#2 – SILENCE

So… the director of The Wolf of Wall Street sends the Amazing Spider-Man and Kylo Ren on a quest to find Aslan and return him to Christianity?! Go home, movie! You’re Drunk! Scorsese supposedly took 10 years crafting this tale.  Given the talent involved, I’m game to give this one a go!

#3 – SLEEPLESS

Jamie Foxx and T.I. Harris team up in a film that looks like Training Day meets Taken.  I’m not really sure what I could add to that statement to get you any more prepared for that film, but if this is just another mindless action film, it looks like one worth seeing!

#4 – THE BYE BYE MAN

It wouldn’t be Friday the 13th without a good ole horror movie.  The Bye Bye Man seems pretty paint by numbers horror.  Shades of Freddy Kruger and that “The Ring” girl combine to essentially form the Boogie Man.  Carrie Ann Moss’s involvement does raise my interest level some.  As a Matrix nerd… you put Trinity, Neo, or Morpheus in any film, I’m going to give it a chance.

#5 – LIVE BY NIGHT

I’ll b honest.  This looks fine.  Affleck starring and directing in a period piece mobster flick… sure.  As a movie goer, all I REALLY care about is his stand alone Batman film.  #MakeBatmanGreatAgain

MY VOTE – SLEEPLESS

This is a busy busy week.  If I had to pick JUST ONE film, I’m going with Sleepless.  No one movie really jumps off the page to me as a must see, but Sleepless seems like it will be the most FUN at the theater.  Patriots Day is too surreal. The Bye Bye Man feels out of place.. too early in the year.  Live By Night looks like it will be good, but again #MakeBatmanGreatAgain.  I will not endorse Affleck doing anything other than MAKING BATMAN GREAT AGAIN!  Silence will probably excellent, but it feels more of a fine wine philosophical film.  I’m more in the mood for something a little lighter on the subtext. Sleepless get:

sleepless_poster_final copy.jpg
3/3 – Why Nots

But that’s just me.  What do you want to see this weekend? Comment, like, share! Let the battle begin!

