Let’s Get Wick-ed!… (sorry… dad puns)

This should be good…

1 LOVE – WHATEVER THIS IS

freeze.png

Hey… so this movie already made me trip balls in the teaser when freakin’ Morpheus came out of nowhere telling Neo he has a hard time staying retired.  I geeked out because the original Matrix is STILL one of my favorite movies.  I eventually got over it and started adulting again… but then this! I don’t know what is happening in this scene but is echoes those same Matrix chills, except this time, it’s real life.  Someone is powerful enough to get all foot traffic to stop on a dime to make John Wick feel the discomfort of the approaching shit storm… and I am here for every last drop of it!

1 HATE – MURKY MOTIVATIONS

house.png

Animal lovers rejoice… Mr Wick will not be spurred into action by the shockingly unnecessary murder of another canine companion.  I am concerned, however, regarding what actually sets the events of this film into place.  Seemingly the bad guys go all Iron Man 3 and blow John’s house to kingdom come…. but then I’m guessing they realize they didn’t ACTUALLY kill him, so they put a hit out on him?  Not saying the execution can’t be great, just saying the “all the assassin’s are hunting one mark” set up feels very borrowed.. very Smokin’ Aces borrowed… and speaking of Smokin’ Aces…

1 SURPRISE – COMMON

common.png

Did you know Common was in this? No?  I swear, I don’t know if it’s bad agenting, or genius, but Common keeps surprise popping up with major roles in major films.  Every time I’m like… did I know Common was supposed to be in this?!  It’s almost as if Hollywood loves Common, but isn’t sure how the movie going public feels, so they keep sneaking him in things to minimize the damage.  Meanwhile, tell me about all the Common. He is pretty great in everything!

OVERALL – HELL YES!

wickout.png

Sequels can be risky business… especially when they were not originally planned and are merely the response to an original properties surprise success.  This feels like it is destined to shed that dreaded sequel perception.  It looks more exciting than the first.  It looks like they effectively raised the stakes without breaking the tone of the original.  Gun-Fu is a style seldom done so well in the US, but Reeves is a dedicated practitioner and is poised to deliver summer blockbuster heat in the middle of February! Grade:

200.gif
Johnny Utah Approved!
